top of page

Assistance animals in Brazil

A while ago, back when I was still on Tumblr, I got a request asking about Service Animals, etc. in Brazil. Now, foreign countries are not my expertise, but I was able to compile some helpful information. Unfortunately, Tumblr lost that post and is unable to retrieve it. So I am going to do my best to find the information again and share it now!


From what I understand, Brazil itself is a very dog-friendly country. Big cities, like Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, are packed with dogs, pet stores, and groomers. So having a pet dog is probably not a huge issue. When it comes to breeds, Brazil does not have a ban on any. Birds, however, are not allowed for import.


Unfortunately, when it comes to actual laws, it appears Brazil only covers Guide-dogs (which are for the visually impaired); and not medical alert or emotional support animals.


09cellssequent25 on expat.com stated "I moved to Brazil 2 months ago. Disabled with a scent trained service dog. Worst mistake ever. I love it here however I had been told by Br government departments that being disabled, moving and doing investment residency that I would not have any issues with a service dog. I have had nothing but road blocks and red tape. Completely frustrated! There are no laws for medical alert dogs only guide dogs. I love the culture, food and beaches. Just frustrated with lack of international standards in regards to disabled who's use of Durable medical equipment that just happens to have four legs! Oy Vey!"


I'm not entirely comfortable trying to interpret the laws of other countries, so I instead was able to find two sites that may be helpful to look into if you are considering bringing a service animal to Brazil. First we have the Overview of Brazil's Legal Structure for Animal Issues. Next we have a blog post I found about what it's like to live and work as a disabled person in Brazil.

I also found some useful sites related to flying with a dog/service animal to Brazil and their requirements. This PDF goes over what's required to bring in a cat or dog to Brazil. This one covers specifically guide/service dog requirements from the Azul Air website.

One thing to keep in mind when it comes to legal issues regarding other countries, is that you are able to call your county's embassy whom specialize in the country you are interested in and ask questions regarding laws. For example, here is the US embassy in Brazil. You can also contact the USDA APHIS to confirm legal flight requirements for entry into the country.


Despite only having laws pertaining to Guide dogs, it does appear Brazil uses Therapy dogs. Keep in mind, these dogs are trained to bring a therapeutic presence to those in hospitals, nursing homes, and schools. However, in Brazil specifically, I've only seen evidence of them used in hospitals. Therapy dogs are trained for the benefit of others and are not used for the medical or psychological needs of the handler.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page